Chris Hani Development Agency (CHDA): Bursaries 2021

Chris Hani Development Agency (CHDA) invites qualifying students to apply for Bursary Programme for 2021 academic year.

Bursary online application closing date is 31 March 2021

The Chris Hani District Municipality are inviting students who have completed Matric, and are residing within the local municipal areas (are listed above) to apply for the bursary programme for the 2021 academic year.

Students who have been accepted to study towards a National Diploma or BSc degree in any of these fields may apply for the CHDA Bursary:

  • Agronomy
  • Analytical Chemistry
  • Animal Science
  • Crop Science
  • Horticulture
  • Pasture Science
  • Soil Science


  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Environmental Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering

Information Technology:

  • Computer Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Cyber Security
  • Information Science
  • Information Systems
  • Information Technology
  • Software Engineering
  • Systems of Network Administration


  • Mining
  • Geology

Waste Management:

  • Environmental Science

Minimum Requirements

Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • Must be a South African citizen
  • Must reside within the Chris Hani District Municipality, in the Eastern Cape (in one of the local municipalities, which include: Emalahleni, Engcobo, Enoch Mgijima, Intsika Yethu, Inxuba Yethemba and Sakhisizwe)
  • Must have completed Matric
  • Must have achieved and maintained a minimum overall average in Matric
  • Must be accepted to study within one of the aforementioned fields of study
  • Must be accepted to study at a public University or University of Technology in South Africa
  • Must come from a previously disadvantaged community
  • Must be in financial need and be able to prove that your family cannot afford to pay for tertiary studies
  • Must have a total household income of NOT more than R15 000 per month
  • Must be willing to serve the CHDM after graduation if required, for a period of time equal to the duration of funding received

How to apply

Students interested in applying must download and complete the CHDA Bursary Application Form (.doc)

Alternatively, application forms can also be collected from the Chris Hani Development Agency (at 15 Warner Street, Southbourne, Queenstown).

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • South African ID document (certified copy)
  • Unabridged birth certificate (certified copy)
  • Matric final results (certified copy)
  • Matric official NSC certificate (certified copy)
  • Proof of acceptance to to study at a public University or University of Technology
  • Proof of residence in the Chris Hani District Municipality (letter from Ward councilor/ municipal account/ lease agreement)
  • Parents/ guardians ID documents (certified copies)
  • Proof of income – if parents/ guardians are employed (payslips: certified copy/ letter from employer and a sworn statement/ tax return statement showing income)
  • Proof of income – if parents/ guardians are self-employed (latest financial statements)
  • Proof of income – if parents/ guardians are unemployed (sworn affidavits)
  • Death certificates, if one or both parents are deceased (certified copy)
  • Divorce certificate, if parents are divorced (certified copy)
  • Sworn statement from one parent if your parents are separated

Applications must be submitted in one of the following ways:
1) Email: [email protected]
(Insert the words “CHDA Bursary Application” in the email subject line).

2) Hand delivery:
Chris Hani Development Agency
15 Warner Street
Eastern Cape

3) Delivery to any Local Municipal Offices, to the Skills Development Facilitator.
– Emalahleni Local Municipality: Civic Centre, Cnr Mandela and Arras Streets, eMalahleni
– Engcobo Local Municipality: 58 Union Street, Engcobo
– Enoch Mgijima Local Municipality: 70 Cathcart Road, Town Hall, Komani
– Intsika Yethu Local Municipality: 201 Main Street, Cofimvaba
– Inxuba Yethemba Local Municipality: 1 J A Calata Street, Cradock
– Sakhisizwe Local Municipality: 458 Umthatha Road, Cala

For latest South African lastest Internships, Learnerships, Apprenticeships and Bursaries follow / like our Facebook page StudentRoom